Forum Home Forum Home > Qashqai 2014 - > Qashqai 2014
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Nissan Qashqai Club

Hard wiring Dash Cam in 2014 QQ with pics

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Tekna
Tekna

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mudds Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hard wiring Dash Cam in 2014 QQ with pics
    Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 6:13pm
Hi all,

I would like to hard wire my dash cam into an ignition fuse so it turns off when the ignition is off (as 12v remains on), is this a difficult job do you think on a 2014 QQ? Im not experienced with auto electrics but have a friend who is pretty good. Ive not looked at the manual yet (typical bloke!) so wanted to get an idea from you good people.

Thanks in advance!

edit: I've now completed the job and included a couple of pics for illustration.

Edited by mudds - 13 Apr 2014 at 7:36am
Kenobi View Drop Down
Tekna
Tekna

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kenobi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Mar 2014 at 7:23pm
It will be the same as I hard wired my footwell lights.
Step 1: buy a 12v dash camera, a suitable wire length and a mini fuse piggy back adapter.
Step 2 : open your fusebox and locate the supermini 10 amp ignition power fuse that originally sits there .
Step 3 remove the super mini 10 amp fuse and insert the piggy back adapter.
Step4 :insert normal mini 10 amp fuses into the empty piggy back slots.
Step 5: connect the live red wire of the cam to the piggyback adapter wire-out lead.
Step 6 : loosen any screw or bolt under your dash or holding your fuse box to the cars metal frame , wrap the ground wire (black) around the screw or bolt and retighten it.
Now you dash cam will turn on whenever the ignition is on.

Any automobile mechanic can do this for you for a little fee.
2014 Pearl black Acenta premium 1.5 DCI , Connect and Safety pack. 14/03/2014
mudds View Drop Down
Tekna
Tekna